Little A3 Ripper Tomos

My buddy Luke dropped his A3 Tomos by the other day for me to have a look at. The symptoms he was describing sounded like a bad condenser, though it was obvious that he had wired in an external one.
Today I threw it up on my lift and had a look-see.
IMG_1185

A3 Tomoses are my favorite. The engine covers and overall styling is so classic.
IMG_1186

IMG_1187

IMG_1189

It turned out that none of the wiring on the bike was very well connected, and the old condenser was still on the stator wired in. I pulled the flywheel and took out the old condenser, replaced a couple twisted together jumper wires with new, proper length wire and soldered it all up.

I took the bike for a good 20min ride and it rips! The Airsal / Proma Circuit combo with the two speed makes for a zippy little guy, and it should be fairly reliable! For a moped anyway.
While out on my ride I ran into a friend of mine that I haven’t seen in ages. He’s got a couple Maxis rotting away somewhere and might be down to unload one on me. I would love to get my hands on a complete bike to build my Tomahawk Cup bike from, so hopefully that works out!

I also played with some Sachs stuff a little bit. I’m excited to finally have some time to get rolling with Austin’s AMS.
IMG_1192

I’m converting his 2 speed manual to a 1 speed manual, doing some fun clutch stuff and putting a big boy kit on it. It should be a fun bike, if I ever get it finished.

More later!

4 Responses to “Little A3 Ripper Tomos”


  1. 1 Christian 03|01|14 at 12:29 pm

    I’m looking to do a very similar build on my 78′ A3 Tomos. The 70cc kit, rebuilt crank with my existing techno circuit pipe. I’d like to use a Dellorto PHVA carb, but I am unsure of what type of intake to use, or if I would have to fabricate my own. What kind of speeds are you looking at with this setup? Will upgraded shoes in the drums be up for the task? Thanks in advance for your input.

    • 2 terrydean 20|01|14 at 8:43 pm

      Hey Christian, sorry for the delay in getting back to you.
      As for the intake, I think a couple people might be making intakes for the PHVA. It’s a spigot mount carb, so you could always make your own fairly easily.
      This bike belongs to a buddy, but I’d say I was cruising around 45-50 down my street when I was test riding it after working on it. It gets there super quick too!

  2. 3 Johnny 02|03|17 at 11:45 am

    Hey! Nice setup. I was wondering what that little toggle switch located where the cover used To be did. Kill switch maybe?? Thanks


GO!

enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 120 other followers

or pick a category!

furniture moped moto nuffin scooter truck van

  • 19,242 yous guys

